Crohn’s – Colitis Survival Set

photo 2

It’s no secret, I’m quite open about my journey with Crohn’s-Colits. I like to advocate awareness for digestive diseases; likewise, I enjoy promoting beneficial products. The journey is not easy – so why not help another along a tough path?

What is my diagnosis – exactly? Presently, I’m diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis (which falls under the broad category of IBD). However, I have characteristics of Crohn’s Disease inside of my colon. At one point, it was discussed that changing my diagnosis on paper may/ may not have any exact benefits.

My brief explanation of my current situation is that I have severe inflammation through my entire colon (large intestines)… which deems the diagnosis of Ulcerative  Colitis. However, the ulcerations (sometimes) follow a “skip-pattern,” in which some sections of the colon are non-ulcerated while other sections are severely ulcerated… which deems the diagnosis of Crohn’s-Colitis. Crohn’s Disease is most typically found in the small intestines but it can spread throughout ANY part of the digestive system. I’m fortunate that my inflammation and ulcerations have not spread beyond the large intestines. The doctors just keep an eye on my patterns and leave it at that. (My aunt has Crohn’s and experienced a much more challenging journey than mine. Digestive issues seem to be a hereditary curse for us – but my aunt is a successful business woman, wife, and beloved by many. She’s taught me that disease doesn’t define you.)

I’d like to dedicate part of this blog to the mission of good health – particularly to digestive health. I have several products in my home that keep me functioning and thriving. The photo above includes just a few of those items in my survival set.

I prefer alternative therapies and health supplements, etc…However, I believe that the medical route has its place, and it has been helpful at times when I’ve been at my worst. My typical approach and motto is do “whatever works.” I’m always sure to consult with both medical doctors and alternative health consultants. The two can work beautifully together. For me, I would like to one day be completely free of medication. In the meantime, it’s a balance. In all honesty, medication alone has not cured me nor placed me into remission. AND – I don’t expect it to. I must do my part with research, diet, supplemental products, and discipline (which I’m not always great at.) Nevertheless, I’m quite “real” about my journey and hope to help others along the way.

In the picture above are a few essential items:

10995948_809819465733774_4099774100943631776_n

Public Domain Photo

1) Arbonne protein shake. It is pea-based protein. I have NOT found any other protein shake (and I’ve tried MANY) quite like it. Every other protein shake (that I’ve been introduced to) includes some sort of wheat, gluten – OR dairy, whey, casein, lactose, etc… Quite a few shakes will label their product “dairy” free… which may be true in some respect, but for someone with digestive issues… I can’t tolerate the casein either. This shake provides my body with essential nutrients and vitamins while not harming my body in any way. It fills me up; I don’t feel hungry! I can enjoy it for both lunch and dinner (which I often do in the warmer weather). It’s awesome!

2) Tri-Vita B-12. Those with digestive issues often need supplemental B12, B6, and folic acid. This product puts all of those into one tasty tablet that easily dissolves in your mouth. It is one less item (medication or supplement) that I need to swallow. I appreciate that. This vitamin gives me the boost I need to get through each day.

3) Home-made chicken broth. The glass jar (above) is packed with nutrients. Do a simple internet search on all of the health benefits of chicken and bone broth for those with digestive issues. My most recent visit to my naturopathic health practitioner included the encouragement to sip on such broth – all throughout the day. It is very comforting;  it’s almost as if I can feel it healing me. What better “comfort” food? (Props to my husband and mom for making it for me!)

4) Plantation Organic Black Strap Molasses. In the case of my disease, (I hate to say this – but it’s true)… I often lose quite a bit of fluid and blood. As a result, I’m often anemic. I gag on typical ferrous sulfate (prescription and over-the-counter) iron supplements. There are some other less intense alternatives (which I will share about in another future post). However, this molasses is a great “go-to.” I can easily add it to my shakes, tea, and presently mix it with baking soda (more on that to come in a future post). I’d say – keep this in your cupboard.

5) Lily of the Desert Aloe Vera. Aloe vera is extremely healing for inflammation. Doctors are shocked at how my body reflects no inflammation (my inflammation level “markers” are nearly non-existent) anywhere else in my body OTHER THAN my colon. It baffles them. I credit aloe vera. I can’t say enough about aloe. There are actually several brands that I enjoy and each has its benefit. This particular aloe (pictured) served as a life-saver upon returning from a 5 day hang-out at the hospital. I transitioned home with hired babysitters and family members helping out because my colon was still “raw.” After a few days of sipping on this product, I felt renewed and was ready to jump back into my full-time “missionzera mom” mode.

6) Bolthouse Farms. Juicing is extremely beneficial and healing. I own a wonderful juicer. In all honesty, I don’t always feel like making the effort to juice. It’s messy and it’s one more thing added to my already full day. I prefer to juice in the Spring and Summer seasons. If it’s cold outside, I’m just not “in the mood” (just being real here). Bolthouse Farms offers great alternatives. Several of their juices (particularly the green ones) seem to do the trick for me. The Bolthouse “Daily Greens” (pictured above) offers kale, spinach & romaine (along with other veggies and fruits) in a perfectly packaged container. No mess, no fuss; simply goodness in one bottle. I find that I often need to splash a little cranberry juice with it as it’s otherwise a bit tart. I know goodness is “going down” and I’m happily satisfied with that.

These are just a few of my favorites in my Crohn’s-Colitis survival kit. I often rotate the use of products. I’ll be sharing a little more of my method and plan, so check back frequently in the “health” category. Hopefully, I’ll be blogging about my complete healing. Although I still struggle with this disease, I live a vibrant and full life. I have moments and seasons where I feel like I’m “down for the count” but I get back up. I feel very blessed.

Keep posted for more on good health “seeds”… and enjoy the journey.

God’s seed: 3 John 1:2 “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (New International Version)

missionzera blessings

-Brook

Leave a comment